Mikkel Torup

IMG_1056-2 was born 1989 in Odense, Denmark.
He started playing the piano from a young age and received piano lessons from Inke Kesseler. He received his Bachelor’s Degree of Piano Performance at Musikhochschule Münster in Germany under Prof. Clemens Rave in 2014, and his Master ́s Degree at the Royal Danish Academy of Music in Copenhagen under Ass. Prof Søren Rastogi in 2017. Furthermore, he studied with the renowned English concert pianist Julian Thurber as well. Currently Mikkel is studying with Argentinian Professor Sebastián Colombo in Brussels.
Mikkel played in concerts in Denmark, Germany, Holland, England, Polen, Spain and appeared as a soloist with chamber orchestra in The International Piano Forum “Bieszczady bez granic” in Sanok in Poland in 2017, played recitals in Vršac International Chamber Music Festival and in “Piano City” in Novi Sad in Serbia in 2018. He also appeared in broadcast from the National Danish Radio and received Scholarships of Esther Wagning’s Foundation and Arthur Feldthusen’s Foundation in Denmark.
He was awarded prizes in national and international competitions such as:
First Prize in The X. International Music Competition in Belgrade 2019
Second Prize in “IMKA” Solo Music Competition in Bosnia and Herzegovina 2019
“Prize for Best Performance of a Piano Concerto with Orchestra” and “Prize sponsored by Konstantin Vilensky and the Society of Polish Composers” in The International Piano Forum “Bieszczady bez granic” in Sanok in Poland 2017
“Diploma of Merit” in Concorso “Euterpe” 2016 in Italy
Third Prize in “Music without Limits” Competition 2012 in Lithuania
Third Prize in “Young Talents and Rovere d ́Oro” Competition 2010 in Italy
Second Prize and “Culture Prize” in “W. A. Mozart” Competition 2004 in Romania
Third Prize in The National Danish Steinway Piano Festival 2004 in Denmark
He received master classes from the professors; Andrej Jasinski, Boris Berman, Eugen Indjic, Elena Kuschnerova, Mikhail Petukhov, Mirabela Dina, Mikhail Voskresensky, Cristina Marton-Argerich, Matti Raekallio, Konstantin Scherbakov, Aleksandra Zvirblyte, Martin Lysholm Jepsen among others.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s