Duo Ellwanger-Coelho


Born in Campo Bom, Brazil, the violinist Tiago Ellwanger began his violin studies at the age of seven. He graduated from Federal University of Rio Grande do Sul in 2004, where he studied with Hella Frank. Later, he obtained a scholarship from Vitae Foundation, studying with Eliane Tokeshi. He earned his Master’s degree from University of Wisconsin, under Bernard Zinck, and received his Artist Diploma from University of Tennessee, under Mark Zelmanovich. Tiago has participated in master classes with Rachel Barton Pine, Leon Spierer, Markus Däunert, Yang Liu, Gerardo Ribeiro, Shmuel Ashkenasi, the Fine Arts Quartet and the Mendelssohn Quartet, among others.

He has been awarded prizes such as Young Soloists of Sesi Orchestra, UWM Concerto Competition and UTK Concerto Competition. With pianist Francisco Dellandréa, he won Chamber Music Contest of Curitiba and received the award for Best Villa-Lobos interpreters.

Tiago has performed as a soloist with the orchestras UFRGS and Ulbra Chamber. He has also been a member of the symphony orchestras of the UCS (University of Caxias do Sul) and Porto Alegre, the Green Bay Symphony, the Sheboygan Symphony and the Youth Orchestra of the Americas, having worked with conductors such as Carlos Miguel Prieto, Dante Anzolini, Isaac Karabtchevsky, Bridget Reischl and Osvaldo Ferreira.



Winner of the XIII OSPA’s Young Soloists Competition (Brazil, 2003), Gabriel Neves Coelho began his musical studies in Southern Brazil at the age of ten. After graduating from Universidade Federal do Rio Grande do Sul (2005), under Dr. Cristina Capparelli Gerling, he moved to USA for his Master’s Degree in Piano Performance at University of Wisconsin, where he studied under Judit Jaimes, a pupil of Rudolf Serkin. Returning to USA in 2010, he pursued a DMA at University of Oregon under the guidance of Dr. Alexandre Dossin (Solo Performance) and Dr. David Riley (Collaborative Piano). He is since 2015 a Piano Professor at Amazonas State University, in Brazil.

In his trajectory, Gabriel Neves Coelho has performed as a soloist with orchestra under the direction of such conductors as Isaac Karabtchevsky  and Julio Medaglia. Also a finalist of the Wisconsin Public Radio’s Neale-Silva Young Artists Competition (Madison-WI), other achievements include the First Prize at “V Concurso de Piano Prof. Eugênia Stangler de Oliveira” and Honor Medal at the “13th Concurso de Piano Arnaldo Estrella”. In 2008 he was selected to perform at Programa Prelúdio, broadcasted nationally by TV Cultura.

He has had the privilege to work in master classes with eminent pianists such as Emanuel Ax, Jerome Rose, Nikolay Demidenko, Alexander Kobrin, Jon Kimura Parker, Arnaldo Cohen, Victor Rosenbaum, Paul Rivinius, and Ricardo Castro. Gabriel was selected twice to receive a full fellowship from the “International Music Festival of Campos do Jordão” (2004 and 2011), and also attended the “Santa Catarina Music Festival” (2010). In 2012 he attended the “International Keyboard Institute & Festival” at the Mannes College in New York City, sponsored by the “Gary Smith Summer Professional Development Award” from University of Oregon.


Gabriel Neves Coelho

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s